Sethmode Select is an invite only soccer program where participants play multiple games (on random teams) while accumulating individual points. The unique format was designed to help players strengthen their love for soccer, improve their skills and build a solid support network for the future. No drills. Just games with friendly competition (and prizes)!

This was our second year putting it on in my hometown and first at Aliber Soccer Complex (the very fields I played on as a kid and a plot of land my mom helped acquire for one of the first soccer clubs in Iowa). Local coaches, club directors and scouts recommended the best players (boys ages 15-18) who have the skills and desire to play at the next level. The list (of 200+ endorsed players) was ultimately narrowed down to 36.

There were some really exciting games and players, including many All-State selections, members of the U.S. Youth Soccer Region II Olympic Development Program team, D1 college commits and the Iowa Gatorade Player of the Year. We also had some very cool gear/prizes from global brands, impactful guest speakers (after every session) and a special guest coach from the MLS. Because the value of the program is primarily in the format itself, many local soccer legends stopped by throughout the week to help facilitate, motivate, encourage and inspire. The whole experience was (once again) a great reminder that doing what you love is a very special thing!

Important behind the scenes supporters: Austin Fisher, Chris McGill, Daryl Brazeau, Joe Sithonnorath, Garrett Crall, Garrett Culligan, Marshall Porter, Matt Carlson, Matt Kennedy, Matt Nickell, Nick Olivencia and Tomas Boltnar.

Special thanks to all the donors: Amy Andersen, Billy Scott, Bob Modersohn, Catherine Sanders, Charles Pritchard Jr, Charlie Kirke, Debra Duball, Delia Vasquez, Dianne Miles, Israel Rodriguez (Avozar), Jack Palen, Jan Bannister, Jeanna Gutierrez, Jennifer Nevshemal, Jodi Wood, John Gaspari, Jonathan Kabagi, Joseph Raineri, Kevin Hansen, Kristina Piech-Nurre, Kyle Reilly, Lauri Brandt, Lesley Peterson, Linda Williams, Lisa Broderick, Lisa Hanigan, Luis Herrera, Margaret Leonardo, Mark Novak, Oliver Bardwell, Payne Hoyt, Ronaldo Enamorado, Ryan Johnston, Stacey Heston, Stephanie Longnecker, Steven Peak, Tanner Hellickson, Theo Nsereko, Trisha Irvin, Vikki Graham, Will Nurre, Yvette Spence and Zac Voss (Voss Distributing).

A portion of all donations go to the Paula Modersohn Soccer Scholarship.

Photography by: Bob Modersohn and Monirah Aldosari.